Categories
Archive Calender Gallery Noticeboard Offers Uncategorized

Raise money for the school with Easy Fundraising

Easy fundraising is a simple and, er, easy way to raise money for the school whilst doing your Christmas shopping this year.

All you have to do is join us via the Easy Fundraising website here and start spending!

 

Categories
Archive Gallery Offers Uncategorized

Rye Books Recommends: September

Each month Rye Books are recommend three books to read. If you fancy giving them a go, just go along to the shop and they’ll give you 10% discount on them (for this month only). Just take a copy of the school newsletter with you to get the discount.

Here are the September recommendations:

Ages 5-6 – The Grotlyn (Benji Davies)

A beautifully illustrated rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar’s First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2015. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen.

 

Ages 7-9 – Piggy Handsome (Pip Jones)

Piggy Handsome is a very confident Guinea pig with a hugely inflated ego – he hails from a long line of very famous Guinea pigs. But sadly, Handsome hasn’t yet achieved world renown. With the help of gruff-talking Jeffry the budgie and the inadvertent efforts of two dastardly villains Dan and Dolly Dixon, Handsome might realise his dream, get in the papers and save the day

 

Ages 9-11 – The Guggenheim Mystery (Robin Stevens & Siobhan Down)

My name is Ted Spark. I am 12 years and 281 days old. I have seven friends.
Three months ago, I solved the mystery of how my cousin Salim disappeared from a pod on the London Eye. This is the story of my second mystery.

Categories
Archive Events Gallery Offers

Rye Books Recommends: Summer Choices

Each month Rye Books  have been recommending three books to read but because we are heading towards the holidays we have some extra books to recommend this month to help see you through summer!

If you fancy giving any of them a go just head along to the shop and they’ll give you 10% discount on them (offer open July-September).

Ages 5-6

Tiny Dinosaurs (Joel Stewart) – What would you do if you found tiny dinosaurs living at the bottom of your garden? Make friends with them, of course! That’s exactly what Daisy does when she finds a tiny t-rex, mini stegosaurus, and titchy triceratops. But will she still want to play with her best friend Rex the dog?

Stone Age Boy (Satoshi Kitamura) – One day a little boy is walking along when he trips, stumbles and falls … into the Stone Age! He meets a girl his own age and her tribe, and learns all about their way of life. But when a furious cave bear attacks, he wakes up back in his own time where everyone tells him it was only a dream. But was it?

 

For children with younger siblings starting school in September…

My Stinky New School (Rebecca Elliott) – Toby’s sister and baby brother love their schools – they smell of paint and rainbows. Toby doesn’t think he likes his new school at all – it smells of ogres and he’s lonely. He looks and looks for friends but he can’t find any anywhere. He finds an alien, a mermaid, a dinosaur expert and a pirate, but no friends! When his mum comes to pick him up he tells her the sad news – but if he didn’t make any friends then who is in the playground waving at him..?

 

Ages 7-9

The Accidental Billionaire (Tom McLaughlin) – Jasper Spam is mad about science, the problem is that all of his experiments tend to end in a BANG, until one day quite accidentally Jasper manages to invent something that will change the world forever.

 

Tilly and the Time Machine (Adrian Edmonson) – When Tilly’s dad builds a time machine in the shed there’s only one place she really wants to go: back to her sixth birthday party, when she ate too many cupcakes and her mummy was still here.

But then something goes wrong! Tilly’s dad gets stuck in the past and only she can save him . . . Will they make it back in time for tea?


Ages 9-11

Holes (Louis Sachar) – Stanley Yelnats’ family has a history of bad luck, so when a miscarriage of justice sends him to Camp Green Lake Juvenile Detention Centre (which isn’t green and doesn’t have a lake) he is not surprised. Every day he and the other inmates are told to dig a hole, five foot wide by five foot deep, reporting anything they find. The evil warden claims that it is character building, but this is a lie and Stanley must dig up the truth.


Roller Girl
(Victoria Jamieson) – Astrid has always done everything with her best friend Nicole. So when Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for a summer camp, she’s sure Nicole will be right by her side – until Nicole signs up for ballet camp instead, with Astrid’s biggest rival.


Smile (
Raina Telgemeier) – Raina just wanted to be a normal girl, but one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls severely injuring her two front teeth. What follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there’s still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion and friends who turn out to not be so friendly.

Categories
Archive Events Gallery Noticeboard Offers

Rye Books Recommends: June

Each month Rye Books are recommending three books to read. If you fancy giving them a go, just go along to the shop and they’ll give you 10% discount on them (for this month only). Just take a copy of the school newsletter with you to get the discount.

Here are the June recommendations:

Ages 5-6: The Tiger-Skin Rug (Gerald Rose)

It’s amazing how easy it is for the tiger to pass himself off as a rug, enjoying a life of luxury with the rajah’s family. He goes entirely undetected, until one night, when he risks expulsion from his comfortable abode as burglars break into the palace and he has to decide whether to stay in disguise as a rug – or save the rajah.

Age 7-9: Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls (Elena Favilli and Franscesca Cavallo)

What if the princess didn’t marry Prince Charming but instead went on to be an astronaut? What if the jealous step sisters were supportive and kind? And what if the queen was the one really in charge of the kingdom? Illustrated by sixty female artists from every corner of the globe, Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls introduces us to one hundred remarkable women and their extraordinary lives.

Age 9-11: The Wildlings (Nilanja Roy and Prabha Mallya)

The Wildings are feral cats, who fear no one, go where they want and do as they please. Battle-scarred tomcats, fierce warrior queens, the Wildings have ruled over Nizamuddin for centuries. But there is a new addition to the clan – a pampered housecat with strange powers. And something dark and dangerous is stirring in the old Shuttered House, and the Wildings will need all the allies they can get as they fight for their lives.

Categories
Archive Get Involved Offers Past Events

Easy Fundraising

Shop online and raise money for Friends of Goodrich Primary School – London

Sign-up for free today and start raising donations with over 2,700 top retailers, simply by shopping online, and at no extra cost to you!